Manufacturing AUTOMATION

Rockwell Automation opens call for nominations for 2015 Manufacturing Safety Excellence Awards

June 26, 2015
By Manufacturing AUTOMATION

Jun. 26, 2015 – Rockwell Automation is now accepting nominations for its third annual Manufacturing Safety Excellence Awards. The award celebrates the world’s safest manufacturing companies, says Rockwell — those that make workplace safety a core business value by building a comprehensive program based on three key pillars: a strong safety culture, well-executed compliance procedures, and effective use of current safeguarding and automation technology.

“The 2014 winners — Corning Environmental Technologies and Bevcorp — were selected because their commitment to safety stretches beyond compliance to help achieve business goals,” said Mark Eitzman, safety market development manager at Rockwell. “For them, keeping workers safe is the top priority. But safety also improves operational efficiency and company profitability, so it’s viewed as a barometer of company success rather than a costly obligation.”

The awards are open to manufacturers, machine builders (OEMs) or system integrators, as long as they demonstrate a true commitment to safety across the three key pillars of culture, compliance and technology. Nominations are due Sept. 14, 2015.

“Winning the award in 2014 demonstrated our team’s dedication to continually improving machine safety,” said Chris Pascarella, president of Bevcorp. “As an OEM, our customers often come to us focused on efficiency and compliance. By partnering with them and designing safety into our machines from the start, we help improve their productivity and raise the bar on machine safety in the OEM community.”
The awards also recognize companies that successfully integrate safety practices between the engineering and environmental health and safety (EHS) departments, says Rockwell, adding that this helps enable the kind of collaboration that dramatically reduces injury rates while also improving plant productivity.

Past winners include General Motors, Procter & Gamble and the PepsiCo divisions of Walkers Crisps and Pepsi Flavors.


To nominate a company, complete the entry form and email it to with “Safety Excellence Awards Nomination” in the subject line or mail it to the following address:

Rockwell Automation
Attn: Steve Ludwig – Safety Excellence Awards
1 Allen Bradley Drive
Mayfield Heights, OH 44124 

Winners will be announced at the Safety Leadership Conference October 26 to 28 in Greenville, S.C.

Print this page


Story continue below